History: WCBS Snooker Pool Carom Balls

In order to fulfill the condition set by the IOC for all three sports to be under one umbrella organisation, the three main disciplines of Carom, Pool and Snooker convened August 30, 1990, at a historic meeting in Bristol (GBR).

Never before had representatives of the three divisions been gathered around one table. As a result it was decided to form the World Confederation of Billiards Sports (WCBS), an umbrella organization encompassing all Billiards Sports, and a three-man committee consisting of Mr. Gagnaux for Carom, Jorgen Sandman for Pool and Mark Wildman for Snooker was appointed in order to work out a first constitution, to serve as a guideline for this new body to be formed.

The inaugural General Assembly of the WCBS was held in Yverdon-les-Bains (SUI) January 25, 1992. A board consisting of 9 delegates was elected with three representatives from each one of the founding members, the Union Mondiale de Billard, the World Pool-Billiard Association the World Snooker Federation (WSF). The first WCBS Board of Directors was comprised. The applications for recognition by the IOC and membership with the General Association of International Sports Federations (GAISF) were submitted later on in 1992.

The IOC had responded to the application for recognition by stating that the WCBS still was to new as an umbrella body for Billiards Sports, and that therefore a possible IOC recognition could not be expected for another few years. The IOC also recommended the WCBS to apply for membership with the GAISF. At the 1995 AGM in Seoul the WCBS finally became a provisional member of the GAISF. Any new organization entering the GAISF must first go through the stage of being a provisional member for two years, and then eventually be accepted as a full member with voting rights.
On February 5, 1998, the IOC granted the WCBS it’s Outright Recognition, and by that it was now once and for all clear that Billiards Sports is to be treated as one sport among others. Later on in the same year the GAISF accepted the WCBS as a full member and the IWGA decided to include Billiards Sports into the program of the 2001 Akita World Games.

In 1998 WCBS participated in two major events – the first ever World Youth Games in Moscow (RUS) and the Bangkok Asian Games (THA). Like the Olympic Games the Asian Games takes place only every 4 years and in 1998 the games were hosted in Bangkok – the capital of Thailand.

The first WCBS application – for the 2004 Athens Olympic Games – was submitted in May of 1997, almost a year before the IOC outright recognition. The Olympic charter stipulates though, that an application must be filed 7 years ahead of the particular games in which a new sport would like to appear, and also before the final selection of host city for those games will be made, and the WCBS had already achieved a provisional recognition. Among 15 other sports that all of them had applied for inclusion, the Greek Olympic Committee decided to scrutinize five, among them Billiards Sports. Finally they selected two sports out of the five, with Billiards Sports ending up as their third choice. In December 2000, the IOC decided that no further sports are to be introduced in the 2004 Olympic Games.

In May of 2001 the WCBS did submit its second application for participation in the Olympic Games, and this time for the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games. In August of 2002, earlier than ever before, the IOC announced that a decision had been taken not to add any new sports for the 2008 Beijing Games.

From 2002 onwards all sports already on the program, as well as all sports aspiring to be included, will be scrutinized by the IOC and measured with the same tools. The IOC also advertised its new policy that the Summer Olympic Games would be governed by the 28 / 300 / 10.500 rule, i.e. a maximum of 28 sports, 300 events and 10.500 athletes would be accepted at each Olympic Games. Knowing that there were 28 sports, more than 300 events, and more than 10.500 athletes in Barcelona, Atlanta and in Sydney.

The participation of Billiards Sports in the 2001 Akita world Games became a great success, and only shortly after the conclusion of the event, the IWGA announced that again for the 2005 Duisburg World Games the WCBS would be invited to participate with four medal events. The historic World Games Champions representing Billiards Sports were Daniel Sanchez (ESP) – Men 3-Cushion, Jeanette Lee (USA) – Women 9-Ball, Ching-Shun Yang (TPE) – Men 9-Ball and Björn Hanaveer (BEL) – Men’s Snooker. Unlike so many other sports from past World Games, Billiards Sports was successful in attracting a crowd for its competitions, and in fact the arena was almost sold-out for each and every round of the four medal events.

In December 2014 the IOC abolished the 28 sport cap on the Olympic programme. This has enabled the host city for the 2020 games (Tokyo, Japan) to select extra sports for the games as long as the cap on events and athletes is not increased. The WCBS entered a bid to be one of the additional sports for the Tokyo 2020 games. Unfortunately in June 2015 WCBS was not one of the eight International Federations shortlisted for the next phase. The WCBS is committed to obtaining inclusion on the Olympic sports programme for the 2024 Olympic Games


André Gagnaux (Switzerland – UMB)                   1992-1996

Jorgen Sandman (Sweden – WPA)                      1996-1998

Sindhu Pulsirivong (Thailand – IBSF)                  1998-2000

Jean Graus (Netherlands – UMB)                        2000-2002

Jorgen Sandman (Sweden – WPA)                      2002-2008

Pascal Guillaume (France – IBSF)                       2008-2010

Jean-Claude Dupont (Belgium – UMB)                2010-2015

Jason Ferguson (Great Britain – WPBSA)           2015-2017

Ian Anderson (Australia – WPA)                            2017-

Jorgen Sandman has been awarded the honorary position of president emeritus

WCBS General Assemblies and Extraordinary General Assemblies have been held in the years:

1992, 1996, 1998, 2000, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2015, 2017, 2018 and 2019